DIY Marbled Painting Tutorial For Acrylics

People have plenty of different methods for creating Marbled Paintings, and my method is generally simple.

Depending on how thick the Acrylic paint is that you are using, you may or may not need to mix it with a flowing agent. I’ve seen people pour their paint straight from their bottles and have it flow around the canvas just fine.

However, this was not the case for me and I had to use a flowing agent, whether it be water or pouring medium, to get the paint to flow over the whole canvas effectively.

Keep in mind though, that if you do use water instead of pouring medium, you don’t want to add too much or else your painting will crack as it dries and you’ll have wasted all of that paint for nothing!


PREPARATION

The first thing you will want to do is set up the area that you’ll be working, because this project gets real messy!

You’ll also want to gather your materials and start mixing your flowing agent in with your paint.



WHAT YOU’LL NEED

Everything I used for this project is pictured in the image above, but you can substitute some of the materials incase you don’t have them on hand.

  • Any sized canvas, blank or previously painted on. Doesn’t matter! (I do however recommend using a smaller canvas while you’re learning. That way, you wont be ruining an expensive canvas if the painting doesn’t turn out right, and you wont need to use as much paint to achieve full coverage)
  • 3-4 different colors of Acrylic paint (I always like using white as one of my colors, but having enough of each paint color is what’s important)
  • Any sort of stirring tool, like a Spoon (During this tutorial I was using an old artist’s spatula)
  • 3-4 mixing cups or dishes to mix your flowing agent into your different paint colors (Here I just used red solo cups)
  • Some kind of cover to place on top of your work surface (I used a large piece of cardboard, but a few layers of newspaper or an old sheet will do fine. Also, Make sure you’re working on a flat and level surface)
  • Spray bottle of water, 1 pair of latex gloves, and a few sheets of paper towel (These can be optional, depending on whether or not you feel that you need them)

Liquitex Pouring Medium | $15.99 at Hobby Lobby



HOW TO MAKE A MARBLED PAINTING USING ACRYLICS

STEP ONE: Pour each of your paint colors into their own cup or container and add your flowing agent (water or pouring medium) until the paint starts to flow faster. You can check this by tilting your cup as if you were going to pour some of the paint out, and watch how quickly the paint flows to the rim of the cup. But you don’t want to spill any of the paint when you try this, because you’ll need as much paint as you can get.

Also, remember that if you are diluting your paint with water, you don’t want to add too much or it will cause your painting to crack as it starts to dry.



STEP 2: Start pouring paint onto the canvas in different amounts and in various places, like in the first photo pictured above.

Next you have to begin turning and tilting the canvas, allowing the paint to flow along the surface, like in the second photo pictured above.

STEP THREE: Tilt your canvas at various angles and in multiple directions, moving the different colors of paint around to form the marbled look you desire.

As you are doing this, make sure your entire canvas gets covered and you don’t miss the edges and sides. This is where it can get the messiest, and having a pair of latex gloves can come in handy.

If you are having trouble getting your paint to cover the whole canvas, or you notice it is still flowing too slowly, take your spray bottle and give your painting one little spurts.

When I do this, I don’t spray the whole painting either, I just focus on one area at a time.

If one spray wasn’t enough, then give it another spurts somewhere else and see how it does and so one.

You just have to be careful not to over do it with the spray bottle, because this can cause cracking also, or you might end up with an ugly mess of a painting!

Also, be very careful that you hold your canvas above the working space you’ve set up for this project, as to avoid dripping paint on the floor, table, or all over the ground.

STEP FOUR: Once you have every single area of your canvas covered, you will want to set your painting out to dry. Find an area with little to no humidity where it is not too hot or too cold, and lay out a few layers of newspaper for your painting to lay on.

Make sure the surface is completely level, otherwise the paint left on the canvas will continue to move around and the whole painting could end up looking completely different than the way it was when you left it!



When I finished my marble painting, I chose to leave it in an unused room in my home so it could dry. I set newspapers on my hardwood floor and I put my painting on top of them.

Since this room was not really used, I didn’t have to worry about someone accidentally knocking it around, and keeping it on the floor (which I knew was a completely level surface) wasn’t going to be an issue.

Before I left the room, I also turned on the ceiling fan above where I set my painting. When it was finally dry, I was happy to see it didn’t have any cracks!


5


Here is another example of a marbled painting I made using this exact same technique. I was so happy with the way this piece turned out!

It took me a couple of attempts to get it right, and to end up with a painting that wasn’t cracking and damaged.

But, the finished product really just depends on where the paint is initially poured onto the canvas, and how it is maneuvered.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, and make sure you tell me about your experience if you decide to try it!

Lastly, don’t forget to follow The Painted Pumpkin and check my posting schedule for updates! And you can read more about the two paintings I featured in today’s post below.

See ya next time! 😘



Did you like either of these two paintings? Would you like to display one of them in your home, or give one to someone as a gift?

Well, they are both for sale! All you have to do is fill out the form on my contact page and make me an offer! Or, if you’d like to know more about them or see more pictures, just ask for them in your message and I’ll be happy to answer any of your questions and send you additional photos.

The dimensions and details for each painting is provided below: 

BLUE MARBLED PAINTING: 

10in tall × 8in long × .5in wide

Contains multiple shades of blue, white, and metallic gold

Has been coated with a clear gloss sealer to protect against damage and yellowing

Original work of art, painted by me personally

RED & YELLOW MARBLED PAINTING

12in tall × 12in long × .5in wide

Contains the colors yellow, peach, white, and metallic copper

Has been coated with a clear gloss sealer to protect against damage and yellowing

Original work of art, painted by me personally

Leave a Reply

